Not An Attention Whore

Does it bother you that I like attention?

I’m only human, after all.

I see the look of disgust and judgement on your face,

As you hear me laugh a bit louder

Or talk a pitch higher,

Just to get noticed.

I see,

You’ve had no problems with attention.

It’s been generous to you.

Attention follows you everywhere

Like cattle egret around ccattle

You’re bread and people are your butter. 

But me?

I’ve had to work for my attention

So,  pardon me for all my efforts.

I’m sorry if I try too hard.

Look away if I don’t please you enough ,

You only leave me craving more.

And don’t give me that look.

I’m not an attention whore .

 

Leave a Reply

